****CLICK HERE FOR A LINK TO VICTIMS OF INDUSTRIAL WIND VIDEOS****


CLICK HERE FOR A LINK TO NWW VICTIMS OF INDUSTRIAL WIND POWER


CLICK HERE FOR A LINK TO SAVE WESTERN NY VICTIMS LETTERS


TESTIMONY  OF WENDY TODD TO MAINE LEGISLATOR


WI-JOHNSBURG COMPLAINT SUMMARY 4-09


OUR LIFE WITH DEKALB WIND TURBINES



WIND TURBINES DISTURBS PEOPLES HOMES 4-12-09

WIND TURBINE NOISE FUELS FRUSTRATION IN OKLAHOMA 4-03-09

WIND TURBINE SOUNDS SPUR COMPLAINTS, FORCE RESIDENTS TO MOVE

MARS HILL WIND TURBINE PROJECT HEALTH EFFECTS 3-20-09

MARS HILL WIND TURBINE PROJECT HEALTH EFFECTS PDF ORIGINAL DOC

WI-OPINION  PROBLEMS WITH TURBINES

NY-STUDIES TRY TO DETERMINE IF AN ILL WIND BLOWS 4-7-09

WINDMILLS IN OREGON GENERATING COMPLAINTS ABOUT NOISE, HEALTH EFFECTS 4-6-09

NY-WINDMILLS A SOUND INVESTMENT? 4-6-09

OK-WIND TURBINE NOISE FUELS FRUSTRATION IN OKLAHOMA 4-3-09

COHOCTON NY NOT DEALING WITH LEASEHOLDER NOISE COMPLAINTS 4-1-09

PA-JUDGE UPHOLDS MOST OF SUIT AGAINST GAMESA 3-30-09

OR-OREGON WIND FARMS WHIP UP NOISE, HEALTH CONCERNS 3-27-09

NY-MAPLE RIDGE WIND FARM HAS BEEN A DISASTER 3-26-09

NY-NOBLE RESPONDS TO NOISE COMPLAINTS IN EAGLE 3-26-09

NY-NOT ALL TOWN OF EAGLE RESIDENTS ARE HAPPY WITH WIND FARMS 3-26-09

NY-NEW FINDINGS SHOW WIND TURBINES TOO NOISY 3-14-09

OR-WIND TOWER NEIGHBORS COMPLAIN OF NOISE FALLOUT 3-9-09

NY-DREAM HOME TAKEN AWAY BY INDUSTRIAL WIND TURBINES 3-7-09

WI OPINION-LIVING AMONG WIND TURBINES 3-6-09

WI-INTERVIEW OF MALONE AND JOHNSBURG RESIDENTS 3-2-09

NY-COHOCTON FARMER REGRETS HOSTING WIND TURBINES RADIO INTERVIEW 2-19-09

NY-COHOCTON MAN COMPLAINS OF TURBINE NOISE 2-1-09

WISCONSIN NEIGHBORS AT ODDS OVER NOISE FROM WIND TURBINES 11-3-08

WI-FARMER DISPLEASED WITH TURBINE ISSUES 5-18-08

WI-WIND TURBINES ARE NOISY 4-28-08

WI-d'ENTREMONT LETTER TO CALUMET COUNTY


JOIN THE HERD
E-MAIL: info@windcows.com

COHOCTON WIND TURBINE NY
IF YOU ARE A VICTIM OF INDUSTRIAL WIND PLEASE SPEAK OUT, SEND US YOUR STORY
AND WE WILL LET IT BE HEARD
E-MAIL:info@windcows.com
The Wirtz's were unable to find anyone to purchase the property and say they were unable to stay because of the deterioration of the family's health due to loss of sustained sleep because of tubine noise and vibration. The only choice they were left with was to abandon their dream home. 

Their home appraised for $320,000 in 2007, the opening bid on the house was $107,000, and even at the low of a price, no one bid.  The home sold to the Bank of New York Mellon for $106,740.

In a recent interview on Fox 11, a representative from Invenergy stated that there is anecdotal, not scientific evidence that people are suffering health problems from living too close to these turbines.  This family and others are having serious  health problems due to negligent siting  of industrial wind turbines. 

HEALTH BEFORE PROFITS
IF PROPER SETBACKS WERE USED THIS FAMILY COULD STILL BE LIVING IN THEIR DREAM HOME
IMPROPER SETBACKS AFFECT BOTH HEALTH AND PROPERTY VALUES
PSC REJECTS OAKFIELD FAMILIES WIND FARM CLAIM

CLICK FOR ARTICLE, DAILY REPORTER

The PSC of Wisconsin has rejected a complaint filed by an Oakfield family about the Forward Energy Wind Center.

NEIGHBORS SAY WIND ENERGY HAS ITS PRICE
CLICK TO READ COMPLETE STORY BY:CLAY BARBOUR, WIS STATE JOURNAL

Elizabeth Ebertz loves her garden, but the 67-year-old grandmother doesn’t work in it much anymore.

The small vegetable patch, which has produced onions, carrots and tomatoes for many family dinners, sits behind her home, in a little valley, about a half-mile from a dozen 400-foot-tall wind turbines.

The structures are part of the Blue Sky Green Field Wind Energy Center in northeastern Fond du Lac County, one of the state’s largest wind farms, capable of producing energy for about 36,000 homes.

Unfortunately, said Ebertz, the turbines also produce enough noise to chase her from the garden — and most nights, disturb her sleep.

“Sometimes it sounds like a racetrack, or a plane landing,” she said. “You wouldn’t believe how loud it gets.”


“I wish those things were never built here,” Ebertz said. “They’re just too close to people. I wish they were gone.”

Jenny Heinzen — a professor of wind energy technology at Lakeshore Technical College, which has campuses in Manitowoc, Cleveland and Sheboygan, and a member of the state’s Wind Siting Council — said she has been amazed with the opposition.

“I have my suspicions that they are getting help from some groups from outside the state, but that has never been confirmed,” she said, referencing persistent rumors of coal and natural gas companies helping to kill wind projects here.

“We heard that criticism before — that we are a front group for oil and gas companies — but it’s just not true,” said Lynn Korinek, a member of WINDCOWS. “We are a group of about 200 members who hold rummage sales to fund our fight. There are no special interests behind us, believe me.”
WIND TURBINE NOISE IN UBLY MICHIGAN

DATE SET FOR WIND LAWSUIT---MICHIGAN
Dates have been set for a case evaluation and jury trial for the lawsuit filed by 20 Huron County residents claiming the Ubly area Michigan Wind I development has harmed their quality of life and lowered property values.
Click to read More...........


IT IS ADMIRABLE TO WANT TO SAVE OUR ENVIRONMENT.
BUT WE DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO SACRIFICE HEALTH, SAFEETY, QUALITY OF LIFE AND PROPERTY VALUES TO ACCOMPLISH THAT GOAL.  WE ARE NOT FIGHTING THE EFFORT TO SAVE OUR ENVIRONMENT, WE ARE FIGHTING TO BE PART OF A BETTER SOLUTION.
WORKING TO EDUCATE COMMUNITIES ON THE TRUTHS AND
REALITIES
OF
WIND ENERGY DEVELOPMENT


WIND GENERATORS STILL CAUSING PROBLEMS
SOURCE Fond du Lac Reporter, www.fdlreporter.com


I live about 2,100 feet from a wind generator and had experienced interference on my television as soon as it went into operation.

Cedar Ridge Wind Farm made arrangements to remedy the interference. I was given two years of basic Satellite TV service at no cost.

Then, I received a notice that Alliant, owners of the wind farm, had decided to grant us compensation equal to the cost of getting only the Green Bay local channels. All I needed to do was to sign a “Release of Claim,” which states in part “the undersigned… hereby fully and forever releases and discharges Wisconsin Power and Light … from any and all claims, demands, actions and/or rights … arising from…”

The three paragraphs protect Alliant forever in every way from any future actions. There is no mention of what we might expect in the coming years.

Does this sound like a good faith effort to correct a wrong done to those of us who have no commercial interest in the wind farms?

Feeling put upon by Alliant following both written and oral communications with their representative, last February I proceeded to contact my local Assembly representative, Richard Spanbauer. I received a letter from him stating, “The Joint Rules Committee recently held a public hearing about the proposed rules changes.”

He offered no suggestions regarding the restraints Alliant is imposing upon us.

Sensing that I might get a better response from our native son, U.S. Rep. Tom Petri, I delivered copies of all correspondence to his office in Fond du Lac. No response. I sent an email to him reminding him of my concern. No response.

I suppose my next attempt at obtaining fair treatment from Alliant would be to file a class action. Why must it come to that?

Allan Loehndorf Town of Empire






OUR SLEEPLESS NIGHTS WITH THE WIND TURBINES

NORTH DEVON GAZZETTE 24
(Click for link)

A TORRINGTON couple are selling their home and business following the erection of a wind farm in a field opposite their bungalow.

Patricia and Arthur Poulton say they are being kept awake at night by the noise from a trio of giant turbines less than 500 metres from their home at Higher Darracott.

The couple, who have operated their Deepmoor Metal Processors scrap metal business from the site for the last 21 years, said they now had no option but to sell up and move on.

“I can hear the turbines through my pillow at night,” said Mrs Paulton, 70.

“It’s a droning whooshing sound and as the blade passes the upright, the windier it gets, the noisier it gets. I have to close the window but you can still just about hear it through the double glazing.

“When they were first put up we had a long spell of really nice weather and they weren’t working at all. But since we’ve had the wind and the recent spell of bad weather the noise is unbearable of a night time.”

“It’s unbelievable the noise they make sometimes,” said Mr Paulton, 68.

“They are supposed to be no more than five decibels above background noise but when the wind blows across the bungalow it’s surprising how far it travels.”

The 240ft turbines were constructed by FIM Services Ltd in March and became operational in April. Planning consent was originally refused by Torridge District Council in May 2004 but later granted by a Government Inspector following a High Court appeal by land owners.

When the Gazette visited the couple on Wednesday, heavy blobs of white and grey cloud blotted out all but a few snatches of blue sky. On the hillside overlooking Torrington, two of the three turbines turned in a stiff breeze.

On the approaches to the town, the first of 22 ESB Wind Development UK turbines can be seen being built at Fullabrook Down on the other side of the Taw Estuary.

When the sun does shine here – especially towards the end of the day – the couple say the blades produce a “flicker shadow” over their bungalow.

“The sun goes down right behind the turbines and you get this strobe effect,” said Mrs Paulton, who suffers from Ménière’s disease – a disorder of the inner ear that can affect hearing and balance.

“They also produce a low frequency noise that you can’t hear but can cause dizziness, nausea and headaches. I’m not sure if it’s a coincidence but I’d not been ill for about five months but as soon as the turbines started I was sick for two weeks and have had to take the medication.

“We had a couple of break-ins at the yard last year and were thinking of selling up, but this has been the final straw.”

The couple have been in contact with Torridge District Council and have been asked to fill in forms to record their disturbance.

A spokesperson for the council said an official investigation had already started.

A statement from the council said: “The necessary forms have been sent to the complainants and our environmental protection team is awaiting the return of the paperwork with a diary of noise disturbances to see whether or not further investigation is required.”

Regarding shadow flicker, it said: “In the planning permission the inspector stipulated that a report should be submitted on shadow flicker which concluded that there would be very little chance of it happening. However, should it occur, effective steps should be taken to stop it.”

The couple were keen to point out that they were not concerned about the turbines’ impact on the landscape.

“We’re not bothered about how they look,” said Mrs Paulton.

The Gazette contacted FIM Service but a spokesperson was unavailable for comment.


WHAT HAVE I DONE

This compelling message appeared in an advertisement run in the October 25, 2007 issue of the Times-Journal newspaper in Wisconsin. A .pdf copy of the ad can be accessed by clicking on the below link. IWA has authenticated this ad. It was written by Don Bangert of Chilton, Wisconsin following a 2 hour interview with a landowner in Northeast Fond du Lac County. The landowner, who wishes to remain anonymous, approved the text for publication.


Now each morning when I awake, I pray and then ask myself, "What have I done?"

I am involved with the BlueSky/Greenfield wind turbine project in N.E. Fond du Lac County. I am aso a successful farmer who cherishes his land. My father taught me how to farm, to be a steward of my fields, and by doing so, produce far better crop production. As I view this year's crops, my eyes feast on a most bountiful supply of corn and soybeans. And then my eyes focus again on the trenches and road scars leading to the turbine foundations. What have I done?

In 2003, the wind energy company made their first contacts with us. A $2000 "incentive" started the process of winning us over, a few of us at a time. The city salesman would throw out their nets, like fishermen trawling for fish. Their incentive "gift" lured some of us in at first. Then the salesmen would leave and let us talk with other farmers. When the corporate salesmen returned, there would be more of us ready to sign up; farmers had heard about the money to be made. Perhaps because we were successful farmers, we were the leaders and their best salesman. What have I done?

Sometime in 2004 or 2005, we signed $4000.00 turbine contracts allowing them to "lease" our land for their needs. Our leases favored the company, but what did we know back then? Nobody knew what we were doing. Nobody realized all the changes that would occur over which we would have no control. How often my friends and I have made that statement! What have I done?

I watched stakes being driven in the fields and men using GPS monitors to place markers here and there. When the cats and graders started tearing 22 foot wide roads into my fields, the physical changes started to impact not only me and my family, but unfortunately, my dear friends and neighbors. Later, a 4 foot deep by 2 foot wide trench started diagonally across my field. A field already divided by their road was now being divided again by the cables running to a substation. It was now making one large field into 4 smaller, irregularly shaped plots. Other turbine hosts also complained about their fields being subdivided or multi cable trenches requiring more lands. Roads were cut in using anywhere from 1000 feet to over a ½ mile of land to connect necessary locations. We soon realized that the company places roads and trenches where they will benefit the company most, not the land owner. One neighbor's access road is right next to some of his out buildings. Another right next to his fence line. What have I done?

At a wind company dinner presented for the farmers hosting the turbines, we were repeatedly told - nicely and indirectly - to stay away from the company work sites once they start. I watch as my friends faces showed the same concern as I had, but none of us spoke out. Months later, when I approached a crew putting in lines where they promised me they definitely would not go, a representative told me I could not be here. He insisted that I leave. The line went in. The company had the right. I had signed the lease. What have I done?

Grumbling started almost immediately after we agreed to a 2% yearly increase on our 30 year lease contracts. Some felt we should have held out for 10%. What farmer would lock in the price of corn over the next 5 years, yet alone lock one in at 2% yearly for 30 years? Then rumors leaked that other farmers had received higher yearly rates, so now contracts varied. The fast talking city sales folk had successfully delivered their plan. Without regard for our land, we were allowing them to come in and spoil it. All of the rocks we labored so hard to pick in our youth were replaced in a few hours by miles of roads packed hard with 10 inches of large breaker rock. Costly tiling we installed to improve drainage had now been cut into pieces by company trenching machines. What have I done?

Each night, a security team rides down our roads checking the foundation sites. They are checking for vandals and thieves. Once, when I had ventured with guests to show them foundation work, security stopped us and asked me, standing on my own property, what I was doing there. What have I done?

Now, at social functions, we can clearly see the huge division this has created among community members. Suddenly, there are strong-sided discussions and heated words between friends and, yes, between relatives about wind turbines. Perhaps this is a greater consequence than the harm caused to my land! Life is short and my friendships precious. What have I done?

I tried, as did some of the other farmers, to get out of our contracts, but we had signed a binding contract and a contract is a contract. If you are considering placing wind turbines on your property, I strongly recommend that you please reconsider. Study the issues. Think of all the harm versus benefits to your land and, in the future, to your children's land by allowing companies to lease your land for turbines.
WHAT HAVE I DONE?
PLEASE DO NOT DO WHAT I HAVE DONE!


Download File(s):
10-11WhatHaveIDone.pdf (661.3 kB)


The Enz's are not the only families suffering the ill effects of
being forced to live too close to industrial wind turbines.


ANOTHER FAMILY, WHO HAS CHOOSEN  NOT TO GO PUBLIC AT THIS TIME,
AND WHO LIVES 1-MILE AWAY FROM THE CLOSEST TURBINE,
HAS NOW ABANDONED THEIR HOME.............


After turbines in the Blue Sky/Green Field project went on line near the Town of Marshall in Fond Du Lac county, James Vollmer's chickens began to fail. His hatch rate plummeted and there were a high number of unusual deformities in the chicks that did hatch, including missing eyes, crossed beaks and missing leg bones.

Vollmer has been around chickens his whole life. His grandmother and grandfather raised poultry and he says he took to it right away.  He has photograph taken by his grandmother of himself  as a toddler in the chicken house with baby chicks nesting on his back. He says, “I can’t remember a time in my life when I wasn’t around chickens.”




(Source: Read Vollmer's full testimony to the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin HERE)

CLICK FOR VIDEO


A dairy farmer named Kevin Ashenbrenner whose farm is located in the Shirley Wind project (Town of Glenmore, Brown County WI),   HAS LOST 17 CALVES AND 15 COWS
since the Shirley turbines began spinning,
which is more than he normally would loose in 5 years of farming and breeding. 

The closest turbine to the house is 9/10 mile away as the crow flies. Six turbines total are located near the property.    The family is also suffering badly with headaches, anxiety, and insomnia. 


Another Wisconsin farmer, Joe Yunk, reported to the Wisconsin PSC, what happened to his beef cattle after the turbines went on line near the farm that was in his family for generations:

Shortly after the turbines began to operate, I had beef cattle become ill and die.  I lost ten animals valued at $5,000 [each] over a two year period and couldn’t afford to continue."

(Source: Read Yunks full testimony to the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin HERE)



Kevin and Joe are not alone. This video interview with Kewanee County dairy farmer Scott Srnka describes similar problems after turbines went on line near his farm.  This happened years ago and industrial turbines continue to be sited to close to humans and animals.